My name is Carlos Quiles, I was born in 1981 in Badajoz, a Spanish town near the Portuguese border.

I have studied Law and Management – I began with Economics, but decided later to go practical – at Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, spent some time in Cambridge, made some undergraduate courses in German culture and language at Middlebury College, spent a year in the Humboldt Universität zu Berlin as Erasmus student (in Volks- und Betriebswirtschaftslehre), and I also made some courses for Bachelor of Laws (LLB) at University of London external programme, although my passion were always languages. During all those years in Madrid I studied – with courses and self-study methods alike – a wide range of languages, from English to Basque, always without really finishing any of them – if finishing studying a language is actually possible.

I travel frequently to Portugal, and I’ve also been in Paris, Zurich and Prague, although I think I haven’t traveled that much outside Spain – I just don’t like sightseeing, I prefer to meet different people, and one cannot do that by spending 2 weeks in a foreign city.

I worked some time for a Broker Financial Group, but left it and spent a year to set in motion a dream about a future United Europe under one common language, Proto-Indo-European – or, more exactly, the North-West Indo-European dialect of Late Proto-Indo-European. A common country where we can move and communicate with others as US citizens do in their country, not just as exchange students or workers, or to sell or buy things. And, at the same time, I wanted a Indo-European Language Revival to be based in our poor and remote Raya regions, Extremadura Centro Alentejo, and more specifically in the Eurocity Badajoz-Elvas, to promote it in the European Union. Thus, we created the ‘Indo-European Language Revival project’ to be led by the ‘Dnghu Group’ to promote the use of Late Proto-Indo-European as a living language, and have since received some help from the University and the Regional Government through public companies. It was then incorporated into an Association, and recently changed its name to Academia Prisca.

After that “Europajom” drop-out sabbatical year, instead of just continuing my studies in social sciences I repeated the Exam for Access to University for the option Biology and Clinical studies, and I studied Medicine at the University of Extremadura. I finished in four years the 6-year study plan (less than three years between first and last exam), and during that time I finished by degrees in Law and Business Administration in distance programs by the Open University of Catalonia, studying in Catalan. I successfully completed the residency in Orthopaedic Surgery (2012-2017), and I currently work in the Pediatric department of the Orthopaedic Surgery service at the regional hospital. Since 2013 I entered postgraduate studies, first obtaining the official Master of Science degree in Biomedical Sciences (2013), and then continuing with doctorate program (2013-2017), successfully defending my PhD thesis (about knee anatomy) in May 2017, which I am in the process of publishing in medical journals.

In the meantime, I have been learning GNU Linux (especially webserver) administration, as well as PHP and MySQL, which – with my previous knowledge in HTML and CSS, allow me to create not just customizable websites, but also some interesting programming projects. I have also learned Java, and I am eager to learn Javascript, but cannot find the time…

I helped create the specialized language learning centre Biblos Idiomas, which is integrated with the Academia Biblos education company

I am always trying to invest some time in all these activities, and also in my multiple interests and projects, among them: reading about national politics and economics of the United Kingdom, Germany, Russia and Lebanon; language learning (specially self-study), finishing my Arabic studies and continuing with my basic Chinese; reading and watching science fiction and fantasy, be it books, comics, tv series or films; drawing (especially anatomy and maps); and pen-and-paper role-playing games (especially to design rules and settings as game master), etc.

I am not fully proficient in any language, but I think I could say I speak Spanish, English and German; I also speak French, Portuguese, Catalan, Italian, Russian, Dutch and Arabic well enough understand the written and spoken language; and I can read and understand Latin, Ancient Greek and Sanskrit. I could probably understand different European and other Indo-European languages, since I studied in the past (but never got to a good level) Swedish, Norwegian, Czech, Polish, Basque. I was in the process of learning Chinese, but left it in a basic level.

I am especially interested in dialects, and thus in minority and regional languages too; in fact, I began this project to unify Europeans under a common language, so that we can all learn our plurilinguistic heritage, instead of letting it die while struggling to learn English, German, French, Spanish, Russian, Italian,… I created a project to revitalize our western Iberian regional languages (Galician-Portuguese and Asturian-Leonese dialects), and I came to the idea of reviving Indo-European in Easter 2004, when reading about the history of Extremadura, seeing inscriptions in Lusitanian, an Indo-European Celtic-like dialect that was spoken in zones of modern southwestern Spain and central Portugal, just before the Roman invasion. It was so similar to Latin, that I thought Proto-Indo-European had to be just as similar…

You can contact me at cquiles@academiaprisca.org.